New German Federal States.
Read Online

New German Federal States.

  • 730 Want to read
  • ·
  • 21 Currently reading

Published by Deutsche Bank in Frankfurt .
Written in English



  • Germany (East),
  • Germany


  • Germany (East) -- Economic conditions.,
  • Germany -- History -- Unification, 1990.

Book details:

Edition Notes

Includes bibliographical references (p. 72).

ContributionsDeutsche Bank.
LC ClassificationsHC290.78 .N55 1990
The Physical Object
Pagination72 p. ;
Number of Pages72
ID Numbers
Open LibraryOL1640387M
LC Control Number91193570

Download New German Federal States.


The enlarged Federal Republic of Germany that emerged on 3 October as a result of the accession of the five new Länder (federal states) created out of the former GDR was a distinctively new and somewhat lop-sided entity. It differed considerably from its West German predecessor, however much the latter had determined the conditions of unification and provided the basic constitutional and Author: Mary Fulbrook. The German situation, which has been so very different, is a case in point. Their reunion of west and east was achieved through first reconstituting the states of the eastern German Democratic Republic. They then joined the western German Federal Republic. the more than three hundred small German states as the guarantee of European freedom, the equilibrium of the states and their survival. The states of Europe as a whole therefore guaranteed the survival and the independence of the minor German principalities and the Imperial cities. Any encroachment by a great power inevitably led to competi-tion. The green federal states are called „westdeutsche Länder“ (west German countries) or „alte Bundesländer“ (old federal states) and the blue ones are the so-called „neuen Bundesländer“ (new federal states). The new federal states joined the Federal Republic of Germany on October 3, (day of reunification).

The Federal Republic extends from the Alps in the south to the North and Baltic Seas. As a federal system, the German Federal Republic consists of 16 federal states whose state governments partly take on their own state duties. Explore Germany on our interactive map of the federal states. The Federal Republic of Germany comprises 16 federal states (Bundesländer) each of which has its own priorities concerning the energy transition (Energiewende). It is generally acknowledged across state and party borders that Germany has to reduce its CO2 emissions to combat climate change, and that transforming the energy supply to a system. The federal states also enjoy the right, with the consent of the federal government to participate and conclude international treaties and policies (Hung ). The German Constitution divides the legislative powers of the federal government into exclusive powers (Articles 71 and 73), concurrent powers (Artic 74, and 74a), and framework. 17 rows  The Federal Republic of Germany (FRG) has 16 states (German: Bundesländer, singular: .

Information on Germany and the German federal states. Official sites of the federal states, tourism information for germany and the major cities. A leading scholar of the constitution of the United States, David Currie, in this book turns his attention to one of the most important bodies of constitutional law in the world, the Basic Law of Germany. It is a comprehensive and accessible introduction to the study of the German s: 1. Germany has a strong tradition of regional government dating back to the founding of the German Empire in Since unification in , the Federal Republic has consisted of sixteen Laender: the ten Laender of the former West Germany, the five new Laender of the former East Germany, and Berlin. The German federal election system regulates the election of the members of the national parliament, called ing to the principles governing the elections laws, set down in Art. 38 of German Basic Law, elections are to be universal, direct, free, equal, and rmore, the German Basic Law stipulates that Bundestag elections are to take place every four years and that.